Posted in Contributors, Events, Fedora, Stuff, Users

Looking forward to Fedora 24

 

It’s not a new I use Fedora from quite a long time.  I’m actually an Ambassador though I can’t always fully work like one.  So I wish! But with 1 month to go to the next release I’d like to comment some stuff about it.

First of all, I’m organising a Fedora Day in Montevideo, Uruguay by the end of May.  Anyone interested in joining can take a look here:  https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Fedora_Day_Montevideo_2016

There will be talks and workshops and a lot of interesting stuff about the new release and Fedora’s general use.  If you’re not near to Uruguay, don’t worry! You can participate anyway from faraway using any remote tool you like.

Second, I’d like to comment what I’m looking forward in the next release.  First of all, I don’t use Gnome 3 but Cinnamon & Plasma 5.  To be honest, I fancy the Plasma 5 spirit but I hate the state is it right now.  Anyway, as it is in fast development with every version new stuff is added.  Also, I don’t care about Wayland but I know others do, so I’ll throw some words on it.

Cinnamon 3 will be shipped with the new spin.  A quick overview written by Clem (Cinnamon main developer)  about what’s coming with this release is here:

  • Window management improvements on tiling, mapping and unmapping windows, compositor’s window groups and tracking of full screen windows
  • Improved out of the box touchpad support (edge-scrolling and two-finger-scrolling can now be configured independently and are both enabled by default)
  • New accessibility and sound settings (both rewritten as native cinnamon-settings modules)
  • Battery powered devices can be renamed
  • Different favorite applications can now be set for plain-text, documents and source code files
  • Panel launchers now include application actions
  • Animation effects are now enabled by default on dialogs and menus
  • Favorites and system options can now be disabled in the menu applet
  • The photo-frame desklet now also scans subdirectories
  • Improved support for GTK 3.20, Spotify 0.27, Viber

 

I’m still missing two great features from Gnome 2:  changing colours at will  &  using tags or little icons to highlight certain files.  Mate Desktop has them both but Cinnamon is more eye candy under my eyes.

Wayland under Gnome is far from perfect but it will have some nice improvements in this version.  So if you’re using Workstation, give it a try!

 

Workspace 1_001
Cinnamon desktop on F23

 

Some bits of History…

I started using Fedora Verne Workstation back in 2010/2011 when the Ubuntu coming by default on my netbook became unstable for unknown reasons.  I loved it ever since although I changed desktops from Gnome to Gnome-Shell and KDE4, and then Mate and Cinnamon, being currently on Cinnamon and Plasma 5.  Besides a little while with Manjaro, I stuck to Fedora all this time and I don’t plan to change any time in the near future.

 

Going further

After some 4 years I started contributing almost at the same time I’ve been voted as Ambassador.  Why waiting so much?  Because many times I considered it but I always thought I hadn’t skills enough to contribute, not to mention to become Ambassador.  Now I know isn’t true.  You don’t need to be a super hacker or a scientist working in the super collider to contribute to the project or have something interesting or useful to say.  There are many ways, including writing articles in the Magazine, spreading the word on Twitter, reporting bugs, organising release parties and translating programmes and documentation.

 

Why this version in particular?

Because Fedora is closer to perfection in every release and this version in particular comes with many major features.  And because it’s going to be out for my birthday!!  Well, not exactly.  It has been delayed yet again. Also it will mark my return to Mate Compiz Desktop as I am downloading the beta version.

 

And what about RPM Fussion?

As usual we will have to wait a couple of weeks until they update everything to the new release.  Maybe a exasperating delay for the urged but nothing that takes my sleep away for me.

 

Author:

Aviation, Aircraft & Flying. History. Programming. Writing stories. Creating beautiful images. Interacting with people.

Leave a Reply

